Getting a Softphone to Work (Noob Here)

Hi. Sorry for the long post…

TL;DR:
I am looking for a quick guide on how to turn the number I bought into a fully working phone on my computer please.

Well I got phoning somewhat working on my smart phone using this guide:
https://www.flynumber.com/blog/how-to-set-up-making-and-receiving-calls-with-your-virtual-number/
The guide was very well done.

Now I am trying to get it setup on my computer and it is a bit overwhelming trying to go through this:
https://www.flynumber.com/fulluserguide.html#config_softphones
I guess if someone can point me in the right direction for getting started it would be super helpful, something like the smart phone guide maybe?

Here are some things I eventually want to get setup:

1. Right now when I phone the number I bought from my other phone number I just get “this number is out of service” I dial 011 before and the full number. Ideally I would like to be able to (1a.) record a voice mail greeting and then (1b.) have the voicemail be sent to an email of my chosing.

2. be able to have some form of “softphone” on my computer so I can use my headset to phone people. Ideally just like a large virtual number pad on my screen I can dial is fine. but if that requires some 3rd party app then maybe I can just use whatever fly number has built in on the phone.systems™. I don’t need anything fancy. Just literally need to be able to call out and the also pick up the phone on my computer.

3. If I should be using a 3rd party softphone app for my simple use case, which one would people recommend?

I am doing follow up calls for jobs in a foreign country. I have all the information stored on a spread sheet so I don’t need anything fancy from flynumber to store my data.

Thanks for reading.

1 Like

Hi @tylerprivel

Not at all, we actually really appreciate the attention to detail :slightly_smiling_face:

Thank you

Please try now as we see the cables were not connected