Rent a Specific Canadian number and Get SMS and More to it Forwarded to me (by email or/and main current phone).)

Hello guys!

TL/DR - My old personal phone number seems to be unused right now. Is it possible to rent that specific number and get SMS (etc.) to it to be transferred to my other phone and/or email?

First I think it’s important to mention that I am a total noob to this kind of stuff. I’ve had my old personal phone number since forever and the same work phone number since the past decade. As years went on, almost everything got done through my “work” phone, and only ended up keeping my personal number through a cheap account “just in case” (since it was hypothetically possible for my employer to keep my professional number if I left or got fired somehow, so I never felt 100% comfortable entirely relying on it, you know…).

Anyways. The cheap phone company I’ve used to pay just to basically avoid losing my old number went out of business following many shady things. They had an obligation to give their ex clients the option to transfer to another provider with their same phone number, but it wasn’t done.

It’s bad because MANY accounts to various apps and services were registered or tied to that number. Some I now can’t access because it requires a confirmation SMS. And again, even if it looks like a waste, I REALLY want to keep my old number for various other reasons.

I see that the number is unused right now. Could I “rent” it from here and then get everything that’s sent to it forwarded to me in some ways?

I apologies for this post’s length!! I’d rather give all the details and context/motivation, etc. But I’ll add a TL/DR section above.

If you took the time to read my post and/or decided to reply, let me thank you so much for your time and help, it’s really really appreciated :D!

Take care, you guys!

Unholy.

1 Like

Hi there and thanks for posting.

Makes total sense and share the same sentiments.